Do you have questions about US marijuana laws by state?
Medical marijuana has been around for a couple of decades now and is legal in many states. However, with the new federal law legalizing both medical and recreational marijuana, many people are confused about federal vs. state marijuana laws.
When it comes to growing your own marijuana plants, any amount without the intent to sell is allowed. Keep reading to learn everything you need to know!
In Alabama, marijuana laws are very strict. Possession of any amount of marijuana is a misdemeanor and is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $6,000. Sale or distribution of any amount is a felony, punishable by up to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $30,000.
Growing or cultivating marijuana is also a felony, punishable by up to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $30,000. In addition, any drug crime within three miles of a school, park, or public housing project increases the penalty to twice the otherwise applicable penalty.
Marijuana is legal in the state of Alaska for adult recreational use, and consumption is legal both in private and public spaces. Individuals over the age of 21 are allowed to possess up to one ounce of cannabis, grow up to six cannabis plants, and share or gift it adult-to-adult.
When it comes to sales, marijuana is only allowed to be sold at licensed dispensaries. In addition, Alaska also has a robust medical marijuana program in place, allowing qualified individuals to access cannabis products with a doctor’s recommendation.
Arizona is one of the states that have progressive marijuana laws. In 2010, Arizona adopted the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act, which allowed for the cultivation, possession, and usage of medicinal marijuana for those with certain accepted medical conditions.
In 2016, Senate Bill 1559 proposed the legalization of recreational marijuana use but was vetoed by Governor Doug Ducey. Currently, marijuana possession and consumption are still illegal under Arizona state law.
Arkansas marijuana laws allow for medical and in general, remain very strict. In Arkansas, it is illegal to possess and use any form of marijuana for any purpose, medical or recreational. Possession of up to four ounces of marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.
Possession of more than four ounces is a felony punishable by up to 6 years in prison and up to $6,000 in fines. Additionally, the state allows for limited medical marijuana use but requires a prescription from a physician.
California Marijuana Laws are some of the most progressive in the nation. Recreational use of marijuana for adults over 21 is legal in the state of California, with certain restrictions present. Medical marijuana use has also been in effect since 1996.
Individuals with a valid medical marijuana ID card are allowed to possess up to eight ounces of dried marijuana and cultivate up to six plants. In addition, roadside testing for drug impairment has been implemented in the state.
With the help of Trulieve, navigating the complex laws of marijuana usage in different states should become a little easier.
Learn All About Us Marijuana Laws by State
The US marijuana laws by state vary significantly from state to state. It is important to stay informed on the differences.
Stay informed and get involved to help build a safe, legal, and accessible cannabis marketplace. Learn more about the differences between states and make an effort in proposing a positive change in your community.
Did you find this article helpful? Check out the rest of our blog.